Okay so I'll admit, the girl can perform. She has stage presence, that is undeniable. And she's obviously pretty good with the whole making herself famous thing. But I just can't help but feel like everything she does is so outrageous and purposefully over the top just to make more money and/or get more attention. Everything from her outfits, to her performances (like the one at the VMAs), to the things she says, even to her gender/sexuality...It all just seems so ridiculous to me. And the public buys into it so easily. Her stuff might be catchy but what does she sing about? Oh, you know, fame, money, sex. The usual. Nothing of any meaning or value.
Also, what's with the autotuned voice? I've heard her sing some ballads and her voice isn't terrible. Why not just sing like that all the time? Put some emotion into it!
I guess it's just the fact that it's all so generic to me and I don't find it relateable at all. And maybe that's why some people love it. They want to imagine their lives are full of fame, money or sex. But really, I just get sad that it seems American society seems to value these things and the artists that sing about them over other, probably more talented, singers and bands. It's not that I don't respect her for doing her thing and being an artist and it's cool if you like her, it's just not my cup of tea.
I am not a fan of Lady Gaga either, but I don't fault her for being as outrageous as she is. That's just how she defines herself, just like several artists have done in the past. Lady Gaga is just a tad more intense than most people can handle, including me. I also agree that her music is generic, and it's sad but that's what people are buying now.
ReplyDeleteI am not a huge fan of lady gaga, but i do find myself singing her songs when they com eon the radio. I do think she is a tad bit out there but thats part of the reason she is so famous. Everyone know her for her outrageous performances and outfits.
ReplyDelete